D&RG Locomotive. Edward Hopper. 1925. Watercolor and graphite on paper.13 7/8 x 20in. D&RG Locomotive #177Class T-12. 1884. Philadelphia, Pa. Baldwin Locomotive Works. Broad & Spring Garden Sts.
On this day in Philly history in 1902, President Theodore Roosevelt addressed students at Central High School, in dedication of the school’s new building at Broad and Green Streets. Central, which opened in 1838 as the second public high school in the nation, moved from its original location at Juniper and Market Streets, the location of the Wanamaker Building today. Central remained at the Green Street location until 1939, but as the school kept expanding, it moved yet again to Ogontz and Olney avenues, where it has remained ever since.
Any Central High grads out there?
[For fun, try using this guide to learn how to see the antique image in 3d. It works!]
from Broad & Spring Garden. 1856. ‘Tiger’
In the grade crossing removal on the Phila & Reading RR in Philadelphia between Green Street and Broad Street a structure of this kind was built with four tracks supported on a solid fill and masonry retaining walls.
[Less than 55 hours left to fund this Eraserhood-produced film!]
PHILADELPHIA: THE GREAT EXPERIMENT is a feature-length documentary on the history of Philadelphia from 1944 –1994, a period that saw dramatic social changes, political corruption, and violence. But it also saw inspiring moments in sports, music, social reform, and the arts that epitomized the innovation and diversity that made Philadelphia the trail-blazing and resilient city it is today.
Philadelphia is the only major American city yet to be featured in documentary film, and we’re going to change that. By departing from a 1776-centric historical focus, we explore stories of Philadelphia’s more recent past –a past that’s still affecting the city today.
When traversing the west side of the urban planning disaster known as the Franklin-Callowhill Industrial District along Willow Street, one happens upon a handsome building that faces no street. This mysterious 1896 façade reveals the origins of a connected complex of old factory buildings that are some of the only remains of the once vibrant mixed-use neighborhood that existed in ages past.