Exploring David Lynch’s “Eraserhood”

Saturday, April 27, 2019 at 1 PM – 3 PMWhen David Lynch moved to Philadelphia in the late 1960s to attend PAFA, he discovered a city that was both terrifying and inspiring. Explore the neighborhood just blocks away from PAFA that so electrified Lynch’s imagination with two guides: Hidden City’s Peter Woodall and Bob Bruhin, photographer and author of “Walking the Eraserhood” (https://ehood.us/walking ). During this one-and-a-half hour walking tour, we’ll delve into the area’s industrial history, as well as the sights and sounds that inspired Lynch’s movies, particularly Eraserhead.

Tickets now on sale at: Exploring David Lynch’s “Eraserhood”

Jane’s Walk – Photographing Callowhill during Golden Hour

Saturday, May 4, 2019 at 7 PM – 8:30 PM

Walk Leader: Bob Bruhin
Meeting point: SE corner of N. Broad and Noble streets at Rail Park entrance.
Free. Public. Rain or Shine.

My first reaction to the Callowhill district was to take out my phone and start taking pictures. Eventually this became the focus of my first book, “Walking the Eraserhood,” a photo essay exploring Callowhill between 2009 and 2014 and discussing the influence the neighborhood had on the work of painter/filmmaker David Lynch.

This year I would like us to celebrate together by photographing The Rail Park and surrounding neighborhood during the period photographers call The Golden Hour, and sharing our resulting images via social media.

Of course, as a Jane’s Walk, open discussion will be strongly encouraged, while we explore and document. Hopefully we can all learn together!!

Estimated walk duration: 90 minutes

Walk begins at SE corner of Broad and Noble (at the Rail Park entrance) and will end at The Patio (500 N 10th St).

Accessibility considerations: uneven terrain. Non-accessible curbcuts and/or stairs. low light/nighttime.

Dogs welcome.

Source: Photographing Callowhill during Golden Hour

Panorama 2874_blended_fused_pregamma_1_mantiuk06_contrast_… | Flickr

Panorama 2874_blended_fused_pregamma_1_mantiuk06_contrast_mapping_0.1_saturation_factor_0.8_detail_factor_1
9th and Green Sts Philadelphia, PA Copyright 2015, Bob Bruhin. All rights reserved. (prints via bit.ly/1W1ualj) —— Luminance HDR 2.3.0 tonemapping parameters: Operator: Mantiuk06 Parameters: Contrast Mapping factor: 0.1 Saturation Factor: 0.8 Detail Factor: 1 —— PreGamma: 1

Panorama 757 | Terminal Commerce Building 12th and Callowhil… | Flickr

Panorama 757
Terminal Commerce Building 12th and Callowhill Streets Philadelphia, PA Friday, 7 January, 2011 Copyright © 2011, Bob Bruhin. All rights reserved. (via bruhinb.deviantart.com/art/Panorama-757-193493801)

David Lynch’s MasterClass Is Here!

David Lynch’s MasterClass on Creativity and Film now exists!

Over the course of thirteen on-demand lessons exclusive to the MasterClass platform, David Lynch teaches his unconventional process for translating visionary ideas into film and other art forms. At your own pace and from anywhere in the world, you can watch David Lynch’s classes, download a class-specific workbook, connect and share ideas with fellow classmates and occasionally submit your video questions to the class Q&A. Some questions will be selected to be answered directly by the director, so join soon if you don’t want to miss out on that rare opportunity.

Read more: Welcome to Twin Peaks – David Lynch’s MasterClass Is Here!

Love in the Eraserhood | Between the beautiful weather, the … | Flickr

Love in the Eraserhood
Between the beautiful weather, the Backyard Barbecue at The Trestle Inn (featuring sidewalk burlesque by Bella Tricks), and the “Sweet Lovin'” Proposition Tent sponsored by Fringe Arts, Philadelphia’s post-industrial “Eraserhood” neighborhood was filled with light, love, and beauty this lovely July First Friday. — Luminance HDR 2.3.0 tonemapping parameters: Operator: Mantiuk08 Parameters: Luminance Level: Auto Color Saturation: 1 Contrast Enhancement: 1 —— PreGamma: 1